Halloween Brainstorm Session – Costume #1

To celebrate the first day of October and the 31-day-countdown to Halloween, I thought I would start brainstorming on some great costume ideas.  These costumes will of course be inspired by classical literature so if you have any recommendations, send them on my way.   I will post costumes as ideas come to my mind so stay tuned throughout October!

One of the suggestions below will be my Halloween costume, which I will wear to the bookstore I work at (we all love dressing up as our favourite characters on Halloween!) [If you’re wondering, last year, I was The Paper Bag Princess].

1.  Sherlock Holmes – One of the most endearing characters and an easy to create costume.  All you need is an array of the following:  magnifying glass, a monocle, a hat (either top hat or deerstalker hat), a suit (any colour will do), if it’s cold on Halloween, bring along a trench coat, a fancy walking cane, and of course, a pipe (perhaps one that blows bubbles!) – you may also solicit a sidekick and name him Watson.

Here is a video titled The Many Faces of Sherlock Holmes.  Give it a watch for costume inspiration as well as mannerism cues:

Leave a Reply

